The Solar System

Our solar system consists of eight planets and one dwarf planet; Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. They are all centred around the sun, a star which provides a gravitational force on the planets keeping them in orbit. The solar system also contains numerous comets, asteroids and meteoroids. the solar system was formed 4.6 billion years ago from a giant interstellar molecular cloud

BBC Focus Magazine Subscription